Workshop Description

Embedded environments (e.g. clausal complements of attitude predicates) provide a window into the nature of pronouns: pronouns in such environments not only exhibit classic distinctions, such as that between bound and referential pronouns; they also participate in a broader range of phenomena, e.g. a distinction between de se and de re readings may emerge if they refer to the attitude holder. This workshop aims at investigating pronouns in such environments in order to shed new light on interactions between (i.) their syntactic properties (e.g. personal vs. clitic vs. null vs. demonstrative pronouns) and (ii.) their semantic properties (e.g. ‘de se’ pronouns vs. syntactically bound ‘de re’ pronouns vs. accidentally coreferring ‘de re’ pronouns). The goal of this workshop is to bring together recent advances on the behavior of pronouns in embedded contexts and how it bears on the correct analysis of pronominal elements.

Invited Speakers:

Angelika Kratzer (UMass Amherst)
Hazel Pearson (ZAS Berlin)
Orin Percus (Université de Nantes)
Philippe Schlenker (Institut Jean-Nicod, CNRS; New York University)
Yael Sharvit (UCLA)

Commentators for Invited Talks:

Sigrid Beck (University of Tübingen)
Regine Eckardt (University of Göttingen)
Natasha Korotkova (UCLA)
Thomas Weskott (University of Göttingen)
Igor Yanovich (University of Tübingen)

Special Session:

On the (Non-)Uniformity of Pronouns

The workshop will be accompanied by a special discussion session led by the main organisers. In the current syntactic and semantic literature, it is a controversial question whether a unified treatment can be given for certain subsets of words that fall into the traditional category ‘pronoun’ (e.g. the subset of personal pronouns). The aim of this special session is to engage in a general discussion on possible research directions that emerge from investigating the behavior of pronouns in embedded contexts.


Patrick Grosz & Pritty Patel Grosz (University of Tübingen)
Sarah Zobel (University of Tübingen)
Commentary: Cornelia Ebert (University of Stuttgart)

Organisational Committee:

Patrick Grosz (University of Tuebingen)
Pritty Patel-Grosz (University of Tuebingen/SFB 833)
Sarah Zobel (University of Tuebingen)